Student Reflections from Moab

18486253_874467616027480_7140071417390782750_n

Below are some reflections from the Moab trip:

Baptism is more than getting dunked underwater. It is submitting yourself to God. It is letting parts of you die, and letting other parts of you be born again. At first when I was Baptized in the Colorado River, I knew that it was a holy moment but it didn’t hit me the choice that I had made to submitted myself to God. It is only now, as I am looking back, that I realize that I have made the biggest decision of my life. I have chosen to follow and praise God in everything that I do. I have chosen to follow God’s footsteps so close that I get the dust of his sandals on my face. I have chosen to try my hardest live up to the name of my God. I have chosen to believe. Thou mayest, I have chosen to be believe. I am honored to be Baptized with Charleigh. I have another Child of God that can walk along the path of life with me and hold me accountable for the choice that I made. I have someone to share one of the most important moments of my life with. It also means a lot to me to be Baptized in the Colorado river. Although I was Baptized in Utah, it still means a lot to me to be Baptized in the river that runs through my home state. It means a lot to me to call Colorado my home again. Moab will always have a special place in my heart, and I will always remember that I have chosen to believe. Thou mayest, I have chosen to believe.     -Makayla
Moab was an amazing trip! I loved the hiking parts because through all the pain in my legs and feet the views were outstanding on the way and at the destination. I also loved sitting at campfires talking, playing games even though I got a little frustrated at times while solving riddles. When I understood them it made me laugh because I made it harder than it really was. Overall the trip made me sad and happy because it was a great trip and my last one with these beautiful and amazing people. –Maddie

Under the stars my mind glowed with wonder. In the Colorado River I was splashed with refreshing sense of friendship. Around the fire I was warmed by the love and joy lit by everyone. At the tall rock formations I found a solid foundation in Christ because only He could create such masterpieces. Moab was a landscape in movement, a landscape full of memories. Whether we were hiking in the sunshine or running under the rain, our faces were radiant with laughter and smiles. The world is full of such amazing places and they are right in front of us. This trip inspired me to travel and explore, and I’ve discovered exploration is even better when it’s with people you love. Our trip to Moab is a trip that will not be forgotten.  –Megan

In Moab, Utah, friendship shined the brightest during the sweatiest, physically challenged, saddest, most claiming times. I formed stronger relationships with every single one of my classmates and teachers. I experienced many things I’ve never experienced before. It was also outstanding to see nature in many different shapes and forms. I will forever remember the challenging hikes to beautiful destinations, jumping into the Colorado river, the very fun van rides, the non-stop crying before, during and after the campfire speeches, and of course getting baptized. I got baptized the second time in my life but the first time deciding. It’s still a feeling I will never be able to describe. I am filled with joy knowing that my relationship with God is just starting. Since that was the first and last time going to Utah with the class nothing else will ever come close to the community building of that trip. I will never forget Moab, Utah 2017 with the greatest class of all time.  –Charleigh

Engaging, growing, bonding, laughing and sharing special memories that will never be forgotten. This was my last trip as an Anastasis student and it was truly unforgettable. From hiking to each beautiful arch to sitting under the bright stars this trip was extra special with each of you. I never had a frown on my face even when jumping into the freezing Colorado river. I was always engaging with someone new and later making a stronger relationship that will never be broken. I was always laughing whether it was when choched egg got choched or when we were watching for shooting stars in peace and all of a sudden Jack and Mitch are yelling DONKEY! And through all of this God was very relevant and he was showing his love and peace through each of you and his creation. Through out this trip I was reminded of a bible verse that says ” The heavens declare the glory of God the skies proclaim the work of his hands.” ( psalms 19 – 1 ) When I hear this bible verse I am reminded to always look for joy in the simple things and absorb the sights God has beautifully painted. God works in mysterious ways but over this trip a little piece of the puzzle was answered for me and that was God is very real and he is working through us and around us each and every day. Some of my favorite highlights over this trip was hiking and looking through caves to only find out that it is a dead end, or looking at the beautiful hanging lake, or watching the suns reflection on the pond disappear as it goes behind the mountains. All of these will be cherished deep in my heart and never forgotten. Thanks for an amazing trip and year I wouldn’t trade it for the world. –Alli

Leave a comment